CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01093469Updated Sep 11, 2018Results posted

Comparing Aquaphor to Atopiclair and EpiCeram in Children With Mild to Moderate Atopic Dermatitis

A Phase 4 interventional study of Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream and Aquaphor Healing Ointment in Atopic Dermatitis, sponsored by Wake Forest University Health Sciences. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 2 Years to 17 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-09-11.

Sponsored by Wake Forest University Health Sciences · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
39
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
2 Years to 17 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to compare the efficacy and cost effectiveness of Aquaphor Healing Ointment, Atopiclair and EpiCeram as a monotherapy in mild to moderate AD.

The investigators hypothesize that no statistical difference will exist in the efficacy between an over-the-counter moisturizer, Aquaphor Healing Ointment, compared to prescription devices Atopiclair and EpiCeram in treating mild to moderate AD. Therefore, Aquaphor will be most cost-effective than Atopiclair or EpiCeram.

Read the detailed description

The primary objective is to compare the efficacy of Aquaphor Healing Ointment, Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream and EpiCeram Skin Barrier Emulsion in children with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis. The secondary objective is to compare the cost-effectiveness of these products. A significant difference exists in the cost of these products; therefore, if our hypothesis is proved correct - that Aquaphor will be just as efficacious as the more expensive counterparts Atopiclair and EpiCeram - this could have a significant impact on the overall cost of treating atopic dermatitis.

This is a single center, investigator blinded, randomized, prospective controlled study of subjects with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis. The study is intended to compare the efficacy of Aquaphor Healing Ointment, Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream and the EpiCeram Skin Barrier Emulsion used three times a day in treating mild to moderate atopic dermatitis. All subjects will receive active study medication and will return to study center for efficacy and safety assessments at Days 7 and 21. Approximately 50 subjects will be enrolled in order to obtain 39 completed subjects that will be randomized 1:1:1 (13 to receive Aquaphor, 13 to receive Atopiclair and 13 to receive EpiCeram) according to standard randomization tables. Efficacy will be measured through Investigator's Global Assessment, BSA involvement, Investigator Global Assessment of Improvement, Eczema Area and Severity Index and 100-pt Visual Analog Score for pruritis. Subjects will complete a Subject Global Assessment of Improvement and a drug diary to monitor for compliance. Cost benefit analysis will be calculated as cost in dollars for change in outcome according to EASI, BSA and VAS.

02

Conditions studied

  • Atopic Dermatitis

Keywords

  • Atopic Dermatitis
  • Wake Forest
  • Dermatology
  • Skin
  • Over-the-counter
  • Moisturizer
  • Children
03

In context

Dermatitis, Atopic

1,419 studies on the registry are indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic; 258 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 39 is below the median of 83 across 1,125 interventional studies indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic.

Browse Dermatitis, Atopic studies →

Lead sponsor

Wake Forest University Health Sciences is the lead sponsor of 1,320 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.

Of its 323 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 243 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
2 Years to 17 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Male or female with mild to moderate atopic dermatitis, 2-17 years of age, that agree to participate and provide written consent (and assent if applicable)
  • Have an investigator Global Assessment of mild to moderate atopic dermatitis (IGA rating of 2-3 in the Investigator Global Assessment)
  • Percentage of overall body surface area of involvement (BSA) must be > 1% and may include facial and intertriginous skin.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Use within 4 weeks of baseline of systemic anti-inflammatory medication, which may influence study outcome, such as systemic corticosteroids.
  • Application or use within 2 weeks of baseline of topical corticosteroid medications or topical anti-inflammatory medication, which may influence study outcome.
  • Presence of a concurrent medical condition, which is determined by the investigator to potentially interfere with study outcomes or patient assessments.
  • Introduction of any other prescription medication, topical or systemic, for atopic dermatitis while participating int he study (oral antihistamines will be allowed, so long as they are neither initiated nor discontinued during the course of this study)
  • Amount of disease involvement that would require >60gm of cream in a 1 week period
  • Subjects with known allergy or sensitivity to Aquaphor Healing Ointment, Atopiclair or EpiCeram or components therein.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Single (Investigator)
Enrollment
39 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Aquaphor Healing Ointment

    Aquaphor Healing Ointment three times daily to atopic dermatitis

    Other: Aquaphor Healing Ointment

  • Active comparator
    Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream

    Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream three times daily to atopic dermatitis

    Drug: Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream

  • Active comparator
    EpiCream Skin Barrier Emulsion

    EpiCream Skin Barrier Emulsion three times daily to atopic dermatitis

    Drug: EpiCeram

Interventions

  • DrugAtopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream

    Also known as: MAS063DP

  • OtherAquaphor Healing Ointment
  • DrugEpiCeram

    Also known as: BRC-Cer

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Investigator Global Assessment of Improvement

    This measures the overall response to treatment and quantifies disease on a 6 point scale from "completely clear" to "worsening of disease".0= Completely clear: except for possible residual hyperpigmentation, 1= Almost clear: very significant clearance (about 90%), 2 = Marked improvement: significant improvement (about 75%), 3= Moderate improvement: intermediate between slight and marked; representing about 50% improvements , 4= Slight improvement: some improvement (about 25%); however, significant disease remaining, 5 = No change from baseline, 6 = Worse

    Time frame: Day 21

07

Results

Posted May 18, 2017

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier Emulsion
Started131313
Completed131312
Not completed001

Outcome measures

PrimaryInvestigator Global Assessment of Improvement

This measures the overall response to treatment and quantifies disease on a 6 point scale from "completely clear" to "worsening of disease".0= Completely clear: except for possible residual hyperpigmentation, 1= Almost clear: very significant clearance (about 90%), 2 = Marked improvement: significant improvement (about 75%), 3= Moderate improvement: intermediate between slight and marked; representing about 50% improvements , 4= Slight improvement: some improvement (about 25%); however, significant disease remaining, 5 = No change from baseline, 6 = Worse

Time frame:
Day 21
Reported as:
Median · units on a scale
Investigator Global Assessment of Improvement
units on a scaleAquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier Emulsion
Investigator Global Assessment of Improvement2 ± 1.72 ± 2.02 ± 1.9

Adverse events

Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Aquaphor Healing Ointment—0/13 (0%)2/13 (15.4%)
Atopiclair Nonsteroidal Cream—0/13 (0%)2/13 (15.4%)
EpiCream Skin Barrier Emulsion—0/13 (0%)2/13 (15.4%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventAquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier Emulsion
upper respiratory infectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/132/130/13
ItchingSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders0/130/131/13
MRSASkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders0/130/131/13
Worsening ATDSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/130/130/13

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Aquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier EmulsionTotal
<=18 years13131339
Between 18 and 65 years0000
>=65 years0000
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Aquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier EmulsionTotal
Female77822
Male66517
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Aquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier EmulsionTotal
Hispanic or Latino2013
Not Hispanic or Latino11131236
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Aquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier EmulsionTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian1001
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American16714
White107623
More than one race1001
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Aquaphor Healing OintmentAtopiclair Nonsteroidal CreamEpiCream Skin Barrier EmulsionTotal
United States13131339
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Miller DW, Koch SB, Yentzer BA, Clark AR, O'Neill JR, Fountain J, Weber TM, Fleischer AB Jr. An over-the-counter moisturizer is as clinically effective as, and more cost-effective than, prescription barrier creams in the treatment of children with mild-to-moderate atopic dermatitis: a randomized, controlled trial. J Drugs Dermatol. 2011 May;10(5):531-7. PubMed 21533301 ↗

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 11, 2018, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01093469
Lead sponsor
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 25, 2010
Start date
Sep 2009
Primary completion
Dec 2009
Completion
Feb 2010
Results posted
May 18, 2017
Last update
Sep 11, 2018

Study contacts

Alan Fleischer, MD
principal investigator · Wake Forest University Health Sciences Department of Dermatology

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion