A Phase 1 interventional study of Fenofibric Acid 105 mg Tablet and Fenofibric Acid 105 mg Tablet in Healthy, sponsored by Mutual Pharmaceutical Company, Inc.. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 45 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2009-10-20.
Sponsored by Mutual Pharmaceutical Company, Inc. · Phase 1, Interventional, and Basic science
The primary objective of this study is to characterize the single-dose pharmacokinetic profile of fenofibric acid (105 mg tablets) and the effect of food of various calorie/fat compositions on the rate and extent of absorption. Additionally, the safety and tolerability of this dose and regimen of fenofibric acid will be evaluated.
The primary objective of this study is to determine the single-dose pharmacokinetic profile of fenofibric acid (105 mg tablets) and the effect of food of various calorie/fat compositions on the rate and extent of absorption. Forty healthy, non-smoking, non-obese, non-pregnant adult volunteers between the ages of 18 and 45 years old will receive a single oral dose of fenofibric acid in one of four randomly assigned sequences of meal conditions each separated by a 7 day washout period. On study Days 1, 8, 15 and 22 each subject will receive a single oral dose (1 x 105 mg tablet) of fenofibric acid following an overnight fast of at least 10 hours or with a low-fat meal, standard meal, or high-fat/high-calorie meal according to their randomization sequence. Subjects will fast for at least 4.25 hours after dosing in each of the four dosing conditions. Blood samples will be drawn from all participants before dosing and for 72 hours post-dose at times sufficient to adequately define the pharmacokinetics of fenofibric acid. A further goal of this study is to evaluate the safety and tolerability of this regimen in healthy volunteers. Seated blood pressure and heart rate will be measured prior to dosing and at 2 hours post-dose. Subjects will be monitored throughout the confinement portion of the study for adverse reactions to the study drug and/or procedures. All adverse events whether elicited by query, spontaneously reported, or observed by clinic staff will be evaluated by the Investigator and reported in the subject's case report form.
Mutual Pharmaceutical Company, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 44 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
Fenofibric Acid 105 mg tablet administered 30 minutes after the initiation of a low-fat breakfast.
Drug: Fenofibric Acid 105 mg Tablet
Fenofibric Acid 105 mg tablet administered 30 minutes after the initiation of a standard breakfast.
Drug: Fenofibric Acid 105 mg Tablet
Fenofibric Acid 105 mg tablet administered 30 minutes after the initiation of a high-fat/high-calorie breakfast.
Drug: Fenofibric Acid 105 mg Tablet
Fenofibric Acid 105 mg tablet administered after an overnight fast of at least 10 hours
Drug: Fenofibric Acid 105 mg Tablet
One 105 mg tablet administered 30 minutes after the initiation of a low-fat breakfast.
One 105 mg tablet administered 30 minutes after the initiation of a standard breakfast
One 105 mg tablet administered 30 minutes after the initiation of a high-fat/high-calorie breakfast.
One 105 mg tablet administered after an overnight fast of at least 10 hours.
Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax)
The maximum or peak concentration that the drug reaches in the plasma.
Time frame: serial pharmacokinetic blood samples drawn immediately prior to dosing and then 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours after dose administration
Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time 0 to Time t [AUC(0-t)]
The area under the plasma concentration versus time curve, from time 0 to the time of the last measurable concentration (t), as calculated by the linear trapezoidal rule.
Time frame: serial pharmacokinetic blood samples drawn immediately prior to dosing and then 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours after dose administration
The Area Under the Plasma Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity AUC(0-∞)
The area under the plasma concentration versus time curve from time 0 to infinity. AUC(0-∞) was calculated as the sum of AUC(0-t) plus the ratio of the last measurable plasma concentration to the elimination rate constant.
Time frame: serial pharmacokinetic plasma concentrations were drawn prior to dose administration (0 hour) and at 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48 and 72 hours after drug administration.
Non-obese, non-smoking, healthy adult volunteers consisting of members of the community-at-large were enrolled.
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 9 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 9 | 9 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 9 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 7 | 9 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Milestone | Sequence ABCD | Sequence BCDA | Sequence CDAB | Sequence DABC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
| Completed | 10 | 7 | 8 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
The maximum or peak concentration that the drug reaches in the plasma.
| ng/mL | Low-fat Meal - Treatment A | Standard Meal - Treatment B | High-Fat, High-Calorie Meal - Treatment C | Fasted - Treatment D |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) | 9,806.74 ± 2,120.78 | 9,854.39 ± 1,980.77 | 7,950.75 ± 1,920.85 | 12,061.67 ± 2,241.31 |
The area under the plasma concentration versus time curve, from time 0 to the time of the last measurable concentration (t), as calculated by the linear trapezoidal rule.
| ng-hr/mL | Low-fat Meal - Treatment A | Standard Meal - Treatment B | High-Fat, High-Calorie Meal - Treatment C | Fasted - Treatment D |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time 0 to Time t [AUC(0-t)] | 132,636.84 ± 47,627.60 | 134,928.11 ± 50,262.64 | 134,814.42 ± 47,130.53 | 139,975.28 ± 48,821.99 |
The area under the plasma concentration versus time curve from time 0 to infinity. AUC(0-∞) was calculated as the sum of AUC(0-t) plus the ratio of the last measurable plasma concentration to the elimination rate constant.
| ng-hr/mL | Low-fat Meal - Treatment A | Standard Meal - Treatment B | High-Fat, High-Calorie Meal - Treatment C | Fasted - Treatment D |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Area Under the Plasma Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time 0 to Infinity AUC(0-∞) | 145,827.10 ± 56,137.08 | 148,367.21 ± 58,828.43 | 148,488.53 ± 55,949.04 | 152,571.61 ± 55,060.83 |
Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Low-Fat Meal - Treatment A | — | 0/35 (0%) | 9/35 (25.7%) |
| Standard Meal - Treatment B | — | 0/36 (0%) | 2/36 (5.6%) |
| High-fat, High-calorie Meal - Treatment C | — | 0/35 (0%) | 4/35 (11.4%) |
| Fasted - Treatment D | — | 0/35 (0%) | 4/35 (11.4%) |
| Event | Low-Fat Meal - Treatment A | Standard Meal - Treatment B | High-fat, High-calorie Meal - Treatment C | Fasted - Treatment D |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 3/35 | 0/36 | 3/35 | 0/35 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/35 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 2/35 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/35 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/35 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/35 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/35 |
| Vessel puncture site hematomaGeneral disorders | 1/35 | 1/36 | 0/35 | 1/35 |
| Vessel puncture site painGeneral disorders | 1/35 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/35 |
| Vessel puncture site reactionGeneral disorders | 1/35 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/35 |
| Blood creatine kinase increasedInvestigations | 0/35 | 1/36 | 1/35 | 0/35 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 1/35 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 1/35 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Low-Fat Meal, Standard Meal, High Fat/High Calorie Meal,Fasted |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 37 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Age Continuous(years) | Low-Fat Meal, Standard Meal, High Fat/High Calorie Meal,Fasted |
|---|---|
| Mean | 23.89 ± 6.27 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Low-Fat Meal, Standard Meal, High Fat/High Calorie Meal,Fasted |
|---|---|
| Female | 21 |
| Male | 16 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Low-Fat Meal, Standard Meal, High Fat/High Calorie Meal,Fasted |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 2 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 35 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Low-Fat Meal, Standard Meal, High Fat/High Calorie Meal,Fasted |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Asian | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 |
| White | 33 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
The record gives a start of Nov 2007, a primary completion of Nov 2007 and a completion of Nov 2007. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.
Results were first posted in Oct 2009, 1 year 11 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2009. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Fenofibric acid
Mutual Pharmaceutical Company, Inc. →