CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00848042Updated Feb 9, 2017Results posted

Pilot Study of AuroLase(tm) Therapy in Refractory and/or Recurrent Tumors of the Head and Neck

An interventional study of AuroLase Therapy in Head and Neck Cancer, sponsored by Nanospectra Biosciences, Inc.. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 130 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-02-09.

Sponsored by Nanospectra Biosciences, Inc. · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
11
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years to 130 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is an open-label, multicenter, single-dose pilot study of AuroLase(TM) Therapy in the treatment of patients with refractory and/or recurrent tumors of the head and neck. Three (3) treatment groups of five (5) patients each will be enrolled and observed for six (6) months following treatment. Each group will receive a single dose of AuroShell(TM) particles followed by one or more interstitial illuminations with an 808nm laser. Particle dose and laser power may be increased in each dosing group.

02

Conditions studied

  • Head and Neck Cancer

Keywords

  • cancer
  • head and neck
  • laser
  • ablation
03

In context

Head and Neck Neoplasms

2,344 studies on the registry are indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms; 551 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 11 is below the median of 47 across 1,751 interventional studies indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms.

Browse Head and Neck Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Nanospectra Biosciences, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 4 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 130 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have documented histological or cytological evidence of tumor(s) of the head and neck
  • Patients must have one or more refractory and/or recurrent tumors of the head and neck which have at least one dimension with longest diameter 15 mm using conventional techniques or 10 mm with spiral CT scan.
  • Target lesions should be accessible to examination (examination by fiber optic nasopharyngoscopy or laryngoscopy is permitted) and to biopsy.
  • Each index lesion should be large enough to provide at least 6 mg of tumor tissue by biopsy (such as an 18 gauge Tru-Cut needle biopsy 1cm in length or similar technique) for assessment by neutron activation analysis.
  • Tumors must be measurable according to RECIST criteria
  • Patients must be ≥ 18 years of age
  • Patients must have ECOG Performance Score of 0, 1 or 2 (see Appendix 3)
  • Patients or their legal representative must be able to read, understand and sign an informed consent
  • Adequate renal function as evidenced by serum creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL
  • Adequate hepatic function as evidenced by: Serum total bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL, Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2X the ULN for the reference lab, SGOT/SGPT ≤ 2X the ULN for the reference lab
  • Women of childbearing potential must agree to use an effective form of contraception during the study and for 90 days following treatment (an effective form of contraception is an oral contraceptive or a double barrier method). Women who are NOT of childbearing potential are those who have undergone a bilateral oophorectomy or who have undergone menopause, defined as an absence of a menstrual cycle for 12 consecutive months.
  • Negative pregnancy test for women of childbearing potential.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with known hypersensitivity to any of the components of the PEGylated AuroShell suspension (polyethylene glycol, gold)
  • Patients who are receiving concurrent investigational therapy or who have received investigational therapy within a period of 5 half-lives of the investigational therapy in question prior to the day of dosing with the PEGylated AuroShell particles (investigational therapy is defined as treatment for which there is currently no regulatory authority approved indication)
  • Patients who are pregnant and/or lactating
  • Patients with evidence of an active bacterial infection or with a fever ≥ 38.5 ºC (101.3 ºF) within 3 days of the first scheduled day of dosing
  • Patients who have undergone splenectomy
  • Patient who has had a course of radiotherapy in the treatment area within the past 30 days.
  • Patient who has had a course of chemotherapy or other anti-neoplastic therapy in the past 30 days.
  • Patient who has had surgery within 2 cm of the treatment area within the past two weeks.
  • Life expectancy of less than 3 months.
  • Any other medical condition, including mental illness or substance abuse, deemed by the Investigator to be likely to interfere with a patient's ability to sign informed consent, cooperate and participate in the study, or interfere with the interpretation of the results.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
11 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    AuroShell-3.5

    Group treated with the lowest treatment level with 4.5 ml/Kg of AuroShell particles concentrated to 100 optical density and 3.5 watts. Device: AuroLase Therapy

    Device: AuroLase Therapy

  • Active comparator
    AuroShell-4.5

    Group treated with up to 7.5 ml/Kg of AuroShell particles concentrated to 100 optical density and 4.5 watts. Device: AuroLase Therapy

    Device: AuroLase Therapy

  • Active comparator
    AuroShell-5.0

    Group treated with up to 7.5 ml/Kg of AuroShell particles concentrated to 100 optical density and 5.0 watts. Device: AuroLase Therapy

    Device: AuroLase Therapy

Interventions

  • DeviceAuroLase Therapy

    Infusion of AuroShell particles followed by laser illumination for photothermal ablation of target lesions

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Any Adverse Device Effects Considered Attributable to AuroShell Particle Administration

    Includes all participants that experienced an adverse device effect that were rated probable or definitely related to AuroShell particle infusion

    Time frame: up to 6 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Response in Targeted Tumors.

    Time frame: 6 months

07

Results

Posted Jul 18, 2016

Participant flow

Subjects screened and enrolled at four sites in the United States.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0
Started551
Day 1551
Day 2551
Day 3551
Day 8551
Day 15451
Month 1451
Month 2151
Month 3141
Month 4141
Month 5131
Month 6131
Completed131
Not completed420
Withdrew: Death120
Withdrew: Other therapy300

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Any Adverse Device Effects Considered Attributable to AuroShell Particle Administration

Includes all participants that experienced an adverse device effect that were rated probable or definitely related to AuroShell particle infusion

Time frame:
up to 6 months
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants With Any Adverse Device Effects Considered Attributable to AuroShell Particle Administration
participantsAuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0
Number of Participants With Any Adverse Device Effects Considered Attributable to AuroShell Particle Administration220
SecondaryResponse in Targeted Tumors.
Time frame:
6 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 6 months post-study. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
AuroShell-3.5—1/5 (20%)5/5 (100%)
AuroShell-4.5—2/5 (40%)4/5 (80%)
AuroShell-5.0—0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventAuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0
Cardiac EventCardiac disorders1/50/50/1
Neoplasm, MouthNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)0/51/50/1
NumbnessGeneral disorders0/51/50/1
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 18
Most frequent other events
EventAuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0
Hypertension, UnspecifiedGeneral disorders2/51/50/1
Pain, Neoplasm RelatedNervous system disorders2/50/50/1
Generalized PainGeneral disorders0/52/50/1
Anemia, UnspecifiedBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/51/50/1
ChillsGeneral disorders1/50/50/1
CoughImmune system disorders0/51/50/1
DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/51/50/1
Leukocytosis, UnspecifiedBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/51/50/1
Erythema, NOSSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders0/51/50/1
InfluenzaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/50/50/1

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)AuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0Total
<=18 years0000
Between 18 and 65 years3317
>=65 years2204
Gender
Gender(Participants)AuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0Total
Female1113
Male4408
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)AuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0Total
Hispanic or Latino2002
Not Hispanic or Latino3519
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)AuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0112
White5409
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)AuroShell-3.5AuroShell-4.5AuroShell-5.0Total
United States55111
08

Study locations

2 sites
  • Cancer Treatment Centers of American Western Regional Medical Center
    Goodyear, Arizona 85338, United States
  • Baylor College of Medicine
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 9, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00848042
Lead sponsor
Nanospectra Biosciences, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 20, 2009
Start date
Apr 2008
Primary completion
Aug 2014
Completion
Aug 2014
Results posted
Jul 18, 2016
Last update
Feb 9, 2017

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion