A Phase 3 interventional study of Bevacizumab and Cisplatin in Stage IB Lung Non-Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7, Stage IIA Lung Non-Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7 and Stage IIB Lung Non-Small Cell Carcinoma AJCC v7, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Completed at 1,169 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-06-23.
Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This randomized phase III trial studies chemotherapy and bevacizumab to see how well they work compared to chemotherapy alone in treating patients with stage IB, stage II, or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer that was removed by surgery. Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Monoclonal antibodies, such as bevacizumab, may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Bevacizumab also may stop the growth of non-small cell lung cancer by blocking the growth of new blood vessels necessary for tumor growth. It is not yet known whether chemotherapy is more effective with or without bevacizumab in treating non-small cell lung cancer.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To evaluate overall survival with chemotherapy with or without bevacizumab used in the adjuvant setting in patients with resected stage IB (>= 4 cm) - IIIA non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).
SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To evaluate disease-free survival and toxicity with chemotherapy with or without bevacizumab used in the adjuvant setting in patients with resected stage IB (>= 4 cm) - IIIA NSCLC.
CORRELATIVE OBJECTIVES:
I. To perform analyses of tissue and blood to establish factors that predict clinical outcome in patients receiving chemotherapy, with or without bevacizumab, for resected early stage NSCLC.
II. To determine whether smoking status is linked to outcome for patients with resected stage IB (>= 4 cm) - IIIA NSCLC treated with chemotherapy with or without bevacizumab in the adjuvant setting.
OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
ARM I (adjuvant chemotherapy without bevacizumab): Patients receive 1 of 4 chemotherapy regimens.
REGIMEN 1: Patients receive vinorelbine ditartrate intravenously (IV) over 10 minutes on days 1 and 8 and cisplatin IV over 60 minutes on day 1 immediately following vinorelbine ditartrate administration.
REGIMEN 2: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 and cisplatin over 1 hour on day 1 immediately following docetaxel administration.
REGIMEN 3: Patients receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8 and cisplatin IV over 60 minutes on day 1 immediately following gemcitabine administration.
REGIMEN 4 (non-squamous histology only): Patients receive pemetrexed disodium IV over 10 minutes and cisplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 immediately following pemetrexed disodium administration.
In all regimens, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
ARM II (adjuvant chemotherapy with bevacizumab): Patients receive chemotherapy as in Arm I. Patients also receive bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1. Treatment with bevacizumab repeats every 21 days for up to 1 year.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up periodically for 10 years.
6,485 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung; 1,630 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 1,501 is above the median of 62 across 5,211 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung.
Browse Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung studies →National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.
Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Inclusion Criteria:
Patients must not have received the following:
Prothrombin time/international normalized ratio (INR) =\< 1.5
Women must not be pregnant or breast-feeding
Patients who will receive pemetrexed (pemetrexed disodium)/cisplatin therapy must also meet the following criteria:
Patients receive one of the following. For all, treatment repeats every 21 days for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. REGIMEN 1: Vinorelbine ditartrate 30 mg/m2 IV on days 1 and 8, cisplatin 75 mg/m2 IV over 60 minutes on day 1 REGIMEN 2: Docetaxel 75 mg/m2 IV and cisplastin 75 mg/m2 IV on day 1 REGIMEN 3: Gemcitabine hydrochloride 1200 mg/m2 IV on days 1 and 8, cisplatin 75 mg/m2 IV on day 1 REGIMEN 4 (non-squamous histology only): Pemetrexed disodium 500mg/m2 IV and cisplatin 75 mg/m2 IV on day 1
Drug: Cisplatin · Drug: Docetaxel · Drug: Gemcitabine Hydrochloride · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Drug: Pemetrexed Disodium · Other: Questionnaire Administration · Drug: Vinorelbine Tartrate
Patients receive chemotherapy as in Arm I. Patients also receive bevacizumab IV over 30-90 minutes on day 1. Treatment with bevacizumab repeats every 21 days for up to 1 year.
Biological: Bevacizumab · Drug: Cisplatin · Drug: Docetaxel · Drug: Gemcitabine Hydrochloride · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Drug: Pemetrexed Disodium · Other: Questionnaire Administration · Drug: Vinorelbine Tartrate
Given IV
Also known as: ABP 215, ABP-215, ABP215, Alymsys, Anti-VEGF, Anti-VEGF Humanized Monoclonal Antibody, Anti-VEGF Monoclonal Antibody SIBP04, Anti-VEGF rhuMAb, Avastin, Avzivi, Aybintio, BAT 1706, BAT-1706, BAT1706, BAT1706 Biosimilar, Bevacizumab awwb, Bevacizumab Biosimilar ABP 215, Bevacizumab Biosimilar BAT1706, Bevacizumab Biosimilar BEVZ92, Bevacizumab Biosimilar BI 695502, Bevacizumab Biosimilar CBT 124, Bevacizumab Biosimilar CT-P16, Bevacizumab Biosimilar FKB238, Bevacizumab Biosimilar GB-222, Bevacizumab Biosimilar HD204, Bevacizumab Biosimilar HLX04, Bevacizumab Biosimilar IBI305, Bevacizumab Biosimilar LY01008, Bevacizumab Biosimilar MB02, Bevacizumab Biosimilar MIL60, Bevacizumab Biosimilar Mvasi, Bevacizumab Biosimilar MYL-1402O, Bevacizumab Biosimilar QL 1101, Bevacizumab Biosimilar QL1101, Bevacizumab Biosimilar RPH-001, Bevacizumab Biosimilar SCT501, Bevacizumab Biosimilar Zirabev, Bevacizumab-adcd, Bevacizumab-awwb, Bevacizumab-aybi, Bevacizumab-bvzr, Bevacizumab-equi, Bevacizumab-maly, Bevacizumab-onbe, Bevacizumab-tnjn, BP102, BP102 Biosimilar, CT P16, CT-P16, CTP16, Equidacent, FKB 238, FKB-238, FKB238, HD204, Immunoglobulin G1 (Human-Mouse Monoclonal rhuMab-VEGF Gamma-Chain Anti-Human Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor), Disulfide With Human-Mouse Monoclonal rhuMab-VEGF Light Chain, Dimer, MB 02, MB-02, MB02, Mvasi, MYL-1402O, Onbevzi, Oyavas, PF 06439535, PF-06439535, PF06439535, QL1101, Recombinant Humanized Anti-VEGF Monoclonal Antibody, rhuMab-VEGF, SCT501, SIBP 04, SIBP-04, SIBP04, Vegzelma, Zirabev
Given IV
Also known as: Abiplatin, Blastolem, Briplatin, CDDP, Cis-diammine-dichloroplatinum, Cis-diamminedichloridoplatinum, Cis-diamminedichloro Platinum (II), Cis-diamminedichloroplatinum, Cis-dichloroammine Platinum (II), Cis-platinous Diamine Dichloride, Cis-platinum, Cis-platinum II, Cis-platinum II Diamine Dichloride, Cismaplat, Cisplatina, Cisplatinum, Cisplatyl, Citoplatino, Citosin, Cysplatyna, DDP, Lederplatin, Metaplatin, Neoplatin, Peyrone's Chloride, Peyrone's Salt, Placis, Plastistil, Platamine, Platiblastin, Platiblastin-S, Platinex, Platinol, Platinol- AQ, Platinol-AQ, Platinol-AQ VHA Plus, Platinoxan, Platinum, Platinum Diamminodichloride, Platiran, Platistin, Platosin
Given IV
Also known as: Docecad, RP 56976, RP-56976, RP56976, Taxotere, Taxotere Injection Concentrate
Given IV
Also known as: dFdCyd, Difluorodeoxycytidine Hydrochloride, Gemcitabine HCI, Gemzar, LY 188011, LY-188011, LY188011
Correlative studies
Given IV
Also known as: Alimta, Almita, LY231514, N-[4-[2-(2-Amino-4,7-dihydro-4-oxo-1H-pyrrolo[2,3-d]pyrimidin-5-yl)ethyl]benzoyl]-L-glutamic Acid Disodium Salt
Ancillary studies
Given IV
Also known as: Biovelbin, Eunades, KW 2307, KW-2307, KW2307, Navelbine, Navelbine Ditartrate, NVB, Vinorelbine Ditartrate
Overall Survival
Overall survival (OS) was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause, and patients who were thought to be alive at the time of final analysis were censored at the last date of contact. The study failed to meet its primary endpoint.
Time frame: From registration to death, up to 10 years
Disease-free Survival
Disease-free survival (DFS) was defined as the time from randomization to an event. Events include disease recurrence, new primary of lung cancer, second primaries or death, whichever occurred first; however, it should be noted that patients with new primaries at other non-lung sites should have continued followup for recurrence of the original cancer. Patients that have not had an event reported at analysis were censored at their last date of disease assessment.
Time frame: From registration to death, up to 10 years
Toxicity Rates as Assessed by the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events Version 4.0
If the difference in the rate of a particular category of toxicities between the 2 arms (N=750 per arm) is at least 5% (4% vs. 9%), 96% power can be attained assuming a significance level of 5% (two-sided Chi Square test) and that the lower toxicity rate for one arm is 4%. A difference in the rates of grade 3-5 arterial thromboembolic events and bleeding events will be monitored and assessed between the treatment arms.
Time frame: Up to 1 year post-treatment
Perform Analyses of Tissue and Blood to Establish Factors That Predict for Clinical Outcome in Patients Receiving Chemotherapy, With or Without Bevacizumab, for Resected Early Stage NSCLC.
Time frame: From registration to death, up to 10 years
To Determine Whether Smoking Status is Linked to Outcome for Patients With Resected Stage IB - IIIA NSCLC Treated With Chemotherapy With or Without Bevacizumab in the Adjuvant Setting.
Time frame: From registration to death, up to 10 years
Patients were recruited between June 1, 2007 and September 20, 2013 from ECOG-ACRIN, SWOG, RTOG, CALGB, NCCTG, NCIC-CTG, NSABP, ACOSOG, and CTSU sites.
| Milestone | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 749 | 752 |
| Started assigned therapy | 737 | 735 |
| Completed | 599 | 269 |
| Not completed | 150 | 483 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 62 | 203 |
| Withdrew: Progression | 7 | 35 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 51 | 174 |
| Withdrew: Death | 6 | 9 |
| Withdrew: Alternative therapy | 4 | 8 |
| Withdrew: Other complicating disease | 1 | 9 |
| Withdrew: Other reasons | 7 | 26 |
| Withdrew: Other | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Did not start therapy | 12 | 17 |
Overall survival (OS) was defined as the time from randomization to death from any cause, and patients who were thought to be alive at the time of final analysis were censored at the last date of contact. The study failed to meet its primary endpoint.
| months | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival | NA (NA to NA) | 85.8 (74.9 to NA) |
Disease-free survival (DFS) was defined as the time from randomization to an event. Events include disease recurrence, new primary of lung cancer, second primaries or death, whichever occurred first; however, it should be noted that patients with new primaries at other non-lung sites should have continued followup for recurrence of the original cancer. Patients that have not had an event reported at analysis were censored at their last date of disease assessment.
| months | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Disease-free Survival | 42.9 (36.7 to 57.0) | 40.6 (35.5 to 49.5) |
If the difference in the rate of a particular category of toxicities between the 2 arms (N=750 per arm) is at least 5% (4% vs. 9%), 96% power can be attained assuming a significance level of 5% (two-sided Chi Square test) and that the lower toxicity rate for one arm is 4%. A difference in the rates of grade 3-5 arterial thromboembolic events and bleeding events will be monitored and assessed between the treatment arms.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Collected over Assessed every 3 weeks while on treatment and for 30 days after the end of treatment. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm I (Chemotherapy) | — | 424/738 (57.5%) | 474/738 (64.2%) |
| Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | — | 563/735 (76.6%) | 509/735 (69.3%) |
| Event | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 237/738 | 273/735 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 19/738 | 200/735 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 66/738 | 92/735 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 63/738 | 74/735 |
| HyponatremiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 44/738 | 66/735 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 52/738 | 40/735 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 38/738 | 47/735 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 40/738 | 45/735 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 30/738 | 44/735 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 31/738 | 43/735 |
| Event | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) |
|---|---|---|
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 256/738 | 183/735 |
| Creatinine increasedInvestigations | 169/738 | 247/735 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 220/738 | 236/735 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 62/738 | 68/735 |
| Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders | 53/738 | 58/735 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 2/738 | 50/735 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 48/738 | 49/735 |
| ProteinuriaRenal and urinary disorders | 3/738 | 48/735 |
All randomized patients
| Age, Continuous(years) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 60.7 ± 9.0 | 60.8 ± 8.7 | 60.8 ± 8.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 374 | 381 | 755 |
| Male | 375 | 371 | 746 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 19 | 29 | 48 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 680 | 688 | 1368 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 50 | 35 | 85 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| Asian | 22 | 16 | 38 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Black or African American | 74 | 57 | 131 |
| White | 642 | 660 | 1302 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 7 | 12 | 19 |
| Chemotherapy(Participants) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cisplatin/Vinorelbine | 187 | 190 | 377 |
| Cisplatin/Docetaxel | 172 | 171 | 343 |
| Cisplatin/Gemcitabine | 142 | 141 | 283 |
| Cisplatin/Pemetrexed | 248 | 249 | 497 |
| Unknown/Missing | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Histology(Participants) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Squamous | 216 | 206 | 422 |
| Adenocarcinoma | 424 | 450 | 874 |
| Large cell | 22 | 16 | 38 |
| Bronchioloalveolar carcinoma (BAC) | 8 | 5 | 13 |
| Not otherwise specified (NOS) | 24 | 16 | 40 |
| Combined/mixed | 45 | 48 | 93 |
| Other | 10 | 10 | 20 |
| Unknown/missing | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Performance Status(Participants) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fully active | 439 | 440 | 879 |
| Ambulatory | 310 | 310 | 620 |
| Unknown/missing | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Urine protein:creatinine (UPC) ratio(ratio) | Arm I (Chemotherapy) | Arm II (Chemotherapy, Bevacizumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 0.31 ± 3.10 | 0.18 ± 0.92 | 0.25 ± 2.28 |
1 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Showing the first 100 of 1,169 sites across 5 countries.
This study is completed, as verified in May 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung→
National Cancer Institute (NCI)