CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00006469Updated Aug 19, 2020

Combination Chemotherapy and Radiation Therapy Followed By Surgery in Treating Patients With Stage IIB or Stage IIIA Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of carboplatin and paclitaxel in Lung Cancer, sponsored by Medstar Health Research Institute. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 120 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-08-19.

Sponsored by Medstar Health Research Institute · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
30
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 120 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining these treatments before surgery may kill more tumor cells in patients with non-small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy before surgery in treating patients who have stage IIB non-small cell lung cancer or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate, duration of response, and survival in patients with bulky stage IIB or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer treated with paclitaxel, carboplatin, and radiotherapy followed by surgical resection.
  • Assess the toxicity of this regimen in this patient population.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes weekly for 5 weeks. Patients also undergo concurrent radiotherapy daily 5 days a week for 5 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. At approximately 4 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy, patients with stable or regressive disease undergo surgical resection. If disease is unresectable, patients receive an additional 2 weeks of radiotherapy.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 29-30 patients will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Lung Cancer

Keywords

  • stage II non-small cell lung cancer
  • stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer
03

In context

Lung Neoplasms

7,243 studies on the registry are indexed under Lung Neoplasms; 1,557 are open to participants now.

This study's planned enrollment of 30 is below the median of 60 across 5,295 interventional studies indexed under Lung Neoplasms.

Browse Lung Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Medstar Health Research Institute is the lead sponsor of 160 studies on the registry; 32 are open to participants now.

Of its 14 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 6 (43%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 120 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed bulky stage IIB or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer

    • Ipsilateral mediastinal node involvement by mediastinoscopy
  • No contralateral lymph node involvement
  • No malignant pleural effusion
  • No distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm\^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm\^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL

Hepatic:

  • ALT/AST less than 2 times upper limit of normal
  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Enrollment
30 participants (estimated)

Study arms

  • Other
    Single arm study

    Concurrent Paclitaxel, Carboplatin, and External-Beam Radiation Followed by Surgical Resection in Locally Advanced Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer

    Drug: carboplatin · Drug: paclitaxel · Procedure: conventional surgery · Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy · Radiation: radiation therapy

Interventions

  • Drugcarboplatin

    Also known as: paraplatin

  • Drugpaclitaxel

    Also known as: taxol

  • Procedureconventional surgery
  • Procedureneoadjuvant therapy
  • Radiationradiation therapy
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Pathologic response rate

    as measured by pathology of the resected specimen and chest x-ray at 3 and 5 years after completion of study treatment.

    Time frame: 3-5 Years

  2. Disease-free and overall survival at 3 and 5 years after completion of study treatment

    Time frame: 3-5 Years

07

Study locations

2 sites
  • Washington Cancer Institute at Washington Hospital Center
    Washington, District of Columbia 20010, United States
  • Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Cancer Institute at Franklin Square Hospital Center
    Baltimore, Maryland 21237, United States
08

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 19, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00006469
Lead sponsor
Medstar Health Research Institute
First posted
Jan 27, 2003
Start date
Aug 1999
Primary completion
Jan 30, 2006
Completion
Jan 30, 2006
Last update
Aug 19, 2020

Study contacts

David J. Perry, MD
study chair · Medstar Health Research Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion